Ask Bajan Mom: Home Schooling in Barbados

Q: Hey… I wanted to know if you knew anything about the homeschooling process in Barbados. I know that it is accepted, but I am unsure as to what the procedure is. I have been living outside of Barbados for the past 8 years. I have been home schooling my 2 children since that time and believe in the parents right to provide the best education possible for their child.

I do so with the help of online curriculum as my children are American citizens. I use a program which provides me with teacher assistance, books, and online class. By the end of their high school life, my children will have recognized high school diplomas. I would like to continue on this program with my children. Do you know of the procedure that I have to go through in order to do so.

I think such a program will be highly beneficial for parents in Barbados most schools are overcrowded and teachers are overworked. – H.W.

A: Dear H.W.,

Thank you for your question. There are many variables which may impact whether you may be able to continue the curriculum you outlined, one of which is the length of time that you plan to spend in Barbados. If your children are to sit any of our national or regional examinations, it may be in their interests to follow the appropriate curricula which lead to those certificates. Your best recourse is to contact the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation at (246) 430-2700 or mined1@caribsurf.com, if you want specifics.

Generically speaking, however, I do have some information for you. In order for a child to be home schooled in Barbados, one must write a letter, asking for permission, addressed to:

The Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation

Elsie Payne Complex

St. Michael

Barbados, W.I.

In this letter you need to:

  • Give the reason why your children are to be homeschooled,
  • Include your children’s names, dates of birth and any previous schools that they attended,
  • Provide the curriculum to be used for the Ministry’s perusal,
  • Provide the qualifications of those who will tutor your child, whether it be you or someone you hire.

I hope that you find this information to be helpful and I wish you all the best in your planned transition.

 

Best regards,

Bajan Mom

 

Posted on August 9, 2014, in Ask Bajan Mom, Education, Moving to Barbados: Helpful Hints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Heather Waterman

    Hi, thanks for you reply.

    I understand the need for all the above procedures except the last. What is needed to be qualified to teach a grade 1 or kindergarten student. As a mother I am the educator of my children. I teach them social , moral, and ethical values. And when they bring home homework from school which they didn’t understand or the teacher could explain in a way that engaged them, I teach it and complete the homework.

    I have even looked into what it would take for me to obtain a teaching certificate in Barbados, and let me tell you; it is backwards. Basically, you have to be a teacher in order to get a teaching certificate. .lol

    I did call the Ministry, and was told that the one person working in the homeschooling section would be on vacation till September. Wonderful timing.!! Who ever answered the phone told me to go ahead with homeschooling my kids and put in my request in September.

    • Hello Heather. I understand your concerns. From what I understand, once you can show that you have qualifications beyond the curriculum you teach, you should be fine. So if you are teaching elementary school, you should have graduated high school; if you are teaching a secondary school curriculum, you should have a college degree and so on and so forth.

      Of course, as I mentioned in my original response, feel free to contact the Ministry of Education to have your concerns addressed. Thus far, I have found the education officers to be most helpful.

  2. Hi Heather

    How have you gotten through with your homeschooling process?

Leave a Reply

